NHS inducts a dozen

Above, NHS inductee Samantha Wondra draws from the four candles representing scholarship, character, leadership and service. The large candle is the “Torch of Knowledge.”

Meeting virtues of scholarship, character, leadership and service, a dozen new members were inducted into the Cleveland High School National Honor Society on Wednesday.

The ceremony was held in the new addition gymnasium.

Installed were sophomores Katie Cink, Harley Connor, Lilly Draheim and Samantha Wondra; juniors Ashley Connor, Allison Jindra, Jackson Meyer, Emma Neubauer, Emma Treanor and Kayla Zimmerman; and seniors Isaac Mueller and Halle McCabe.

“The Honor Society induction is the culmination of a lot of years of hard work by the students and also by the parents helping those students make it through,” said Principal Scott Lusk. “It’s so hard today with all the obstacles that are in the way, so I want to congratulate inductees for working hard and doing the right thing.”

Academic achievements in grades nine through 12 determine scholastic standings. Participation in activities in and out of school is considered when evaluating service and leadership. Character comes from a wider range of considerations: maturity of attitude towards rules, regulations, class work, instructors and classmates.

“Your leadership will take you to far places,” Lusk told the 12. “You have that character that you need throughout the rest of your life. You should be proud of your accomplishments with that. You walk out our doors, and I don’t care if you have a 4.0 average; I just want you to be a good human, and all of you exemplify that.”

Taking turns, Lusk and teacher David Cink presented the new members and stated how each met the four requirements. They also read a portion of each candidate’s reference letter, typically from an employer, coach or organization leader.

Current NHS members are President Ben Holden, Vice President Macey Ziebarth, Secretary Nicole McCabe as well as Eric Rohlfing and Tyce Shook. All are seniors.

The Cleveland chapter of the NHS was organized back in 1963. Charter members were Jane Alinder, James Beckel, Gary Dauk, Jane Dauk, Mary Grice, Betty Harty, Carol Krenik, Lee Ann Krenik, Ruth Ann Lloyd, Carol Jean Rosner, Rita Anne Schloesser, Chrystal Severson, Pat Traxler and Ronald Tschann. Over the years, 437 members have been inducted.

Business teacher Geraldine Davis was the first advisor. Home economics teacher Marge Cooney took over in 1969 and served until 1973. English teacher and librarian Virginia Grabow was advisor into the late 1990s when Linda Ross and student counselor Betty Jo Braun begin their tenure. Braun served for 17 years. Current advisors are art teacher Bre Roberts and Spanish teacher Lupita Marchan.

Some of the dozen new members would have been inducted last year, but with the pandemic, the installation didn’t take place. This year’s ceremony was available to watch on line. 

Teacher David Cink presented his daughter Katie.

Allison Jindra lights her candle from the candles representing the four NHS virtues.

The 2021 NHS inductees are, front, L-R: Ashley Connor, Allison Jindra, Kayla Zimmerman, Halle McCabe, Samantha Wondra and Emma Neubauer. Back: Jackson Meyer, Emma Treanor, Isaac Mueller, Harley Connor, Lilly Draheim and Katie Cink.

NHS senior members include from L-R, Isaac Mueller, Nicole McCabe, Ben Holden, Macey Ziebarth, Tyce Shook, Halle McCabe and Eric Rohlfing.

NHS advisor Bre Roberts places the senior cords around the neck of Ben Holden.