Cade Kriha shooting

Gusting up to 30 mph, a strong headwind challenged the Clipper trap shooters at the Caribou Gun Club on Wednesday.

The average score was just over 32, down over 2 points from a week ago.

“The targets shoot straight out,” senior Cade Kriha (shooting above), who, for the the second-straight week, led the effort. He shot a 22 and a 24 for a 46 total. “It’s more difficult, but you just have to be ready for it and watch where it goes, and sometimes you’ve got to lead it along too and be more mobile.”

Sophomore Derek Miller had the biggest improvement over a week ago, upping his score by eight points to a 35.

Freshman Nick Simonette was right behind Kriha with a 45. Simonette's classmate Cooper Arnold shot a 44. With a 43, senior Kolby Gens equaled his effort from last week.

Junior Dakota Alitz broke up 42 4-inch neon orange discs. His classmate Martin Gibbs shot a 41 as did senior Jake Anderley.

Seventh grader Tanner Simonette and sophomore Dylan Zimmerman each connected with 40 clays. Seniors Jack Mertins and Riley Tomaszewski each shot a 39.

With 36s were freshman Reid Knish, eighth grader Kaden Schmidt, sophomore Gabe Sullivan, and freshman Riley Kriha. Also with 35s were seventh grader Chase Bock, freshman Blake Gibbs and sixth grader Gavin Marks.

Seventh grader Colton Tousley broke apart 33 discs. His classmates Cole Stocker and Henry Boelter each shot a 31.

Senior Jackson Meyer scored a 30. With 30s were senior Jay Pankratz, freshman Noah Hermel, eighth grader Max Esser and sixth grader Brunson Gibbs.

Adam Seeman, a sophomore, shot down 29 targets. His brother Nathan Seeman, an eighth grader hit 27 as did eighth grader Judd Gibbs.

Seventh grader Braeden Smith shot a 25. Eighth grader Mason Klunz and seventh grader Marshall Heldberg each scored a 24. Seventh grader Zayden Linder shot a 20.

Sixth grader Aiden Giese struggled with the wind for a 16. Eighth grader Dylan Thompson shot a 15. Senior Emma Treanor hit 14 clays, and freshman Kendra Zimmerman shot a 13.

The trap team will end its regular season next Wednesday.

Dakota Alitz

Derek Miller

Colton Tousley

Henry Boelter

Brunson Gibbs

Adam Seeman

Judd Gibbs

Kendra Zimmerman